Wednesday, June 13, 2007

Fwd: Best Art Practices - International Award for young curator


Best Art Practices

Best Art Practices
International award for young curators

First edition theme
Projects in non-conventional spaces

Announced by
Italian Cultural Office of the Autonomous Province of Bolzano – South Tyrol

Curated by
Denis Isaia

The Award
The Italian Cultural Office of the Autonomous Province of Bolzano – South Tyrol, next host of the European Biennal Manifesta, is announcing the first edition of the international competition Best Art Practices – International award for young curators .

Best Art Practices will assign prizes to the best curator practices of contemporary art of the last five years.

The theme of the first edition will focus on projects in non-conventional spaces.

The Award accepts only projects that have been completed in the last five years and therefore inaugurated after 1 March 2002. Itinerant events or events taking place over a period of time will be accepted as long as all the phases are concluded by 1 March 2007. The Award is open to all curators of all nationalities born on or after 2 March 1967.

Transmission of data

Entries must arrive by 12 midday of Monday 3rd September 2007 by post, courier or hand delivery at the Award secretary's office. The postmark will not be considered as proof for the date of arrival of the entry and data sent by email or other means of transmission different from those indicated above will not be accepted.


First prize € 10,000
Second prize € 3,000
Third prize € 2,000

Languages accepted

The data may be sent in Italian, German, English or Spanish.

Composition of the Jury

The international Jury is composed of a Jury President and five commissioners.
President: Carlos Basualdo, curator - Philadelphia Museum of Art
Commissioner: Marion Piffer Damiani, independent curator; Bolzano
Commissioner: Letizia Ragaglia curator – Museion; Bolzano
Commissioner: Montse RomanĂ­, independent curator; Barcelona
Commissioner: Anton Vidokle, artist; New York and Berlin
Commissioner: Andrea Viliani, curator – Mambo; Bologna

Selection and prize giving

The winners will be selected by the assembled Jury.

At the end of the selection the first 8 placed will be classified. It is within the jury's jurisdiction to proclaim, for valid and justified reason, that no project has reached the winning standard.

The list of the first 8 selected will be published with effect form 12th November 2007 on the website of the Award.

It is also possible that a number of the projects, at the jury's discretion, will form part of an exhibition and in due course a catalogue, and that a number of the competitors may be invited to participate in a conference on this subject.

Enrolment forms, prizes-giving criteria and more information are available at

Press Office
Carlo Simula
+39 0577 22 07 21

email to a friend contact subscribe electronic flux corporation /
295 greenwich street #532, nyc ny 10007

to unsubscribe click / here

No comments: